Jones ice cream, Berlin (DE)

As explained in previous posts about Berlin: Berlin is an ice cream paradise to me! So many shops that make real good ice cream…

A year had passed since my last visit to Berlin… it was high time to work my way through a few more ice cream shops! I travelled to Berlin with a few friends who are not quite as enthusiastic about ice cream as I am (…yet?!). In practice this meant I had to suggest ice cream shops that were within a wise distance of where we were / where we were going to!

Jones ice cream was high on my wish list of places to try: I’ve been dying to go there ever since I read about its opening on the blog Berlin isst Eis (blog in German) and I’ve seen so many photos on Instagram of their nice-sounding ice cream flavours and of their hand-made waffle cones.

jones ice cream shop, Berlin
jones ice cream shop, Berlin

When I realised we were driving in the direction of Jones ice cream shop, I told my friends about this wonderful place that makes their own ice cream, their own marshmallows and their own cones, and I mentioned the roasted chicory ice cream that would probably be on offer that day. These arguments worked a wonder… Soon my friends were savouring their roasted chicory ice cream, while I was eating my cucumber-tonic sorbet and my banana-chocolate-marshmallow ice cream. 🙂

Ice cream flavours of the day
Ice cream flavours of the day

Jones-handmade-ice-cream-shop-Berlin.jpg

Some of the ice cream on offer
Some of the ice cream on offer
My cucumber-tonic sorbet and banana-chocolate marshmallow ice cream on top, with a delicious handmade waffle cone
My cucumber-tonic sorbet and banana-chocolate marshmallow ice cream served with a delicious handmade waffle cone
  • the cucumber ice cream was interesting, light and refreshing
  • the banana ice cream was more decadent with chocolate and marshmallow chunks… chocolate and banana are such a good match! It was clearly made with real banana and not with artificial flavours. As mentioned above, Jones ice cream make their own marshmallows!
  • I also sampled grapefruit-earl grey sorbet: if you like grapefruit, you’ll love this intense sorbet made 60% of grapefruit!
  • I tried my friend’s fudge-chocolate-caramel-peanuts ice cream… it was also very good!! 🙂
  • The roasted chicory ice cream was delicious too!
Scoop of fudge-chocolate-peanut and banana-chocolate-marshmallow ice cream in a handmade waffle cone
Scoop of fudge-chocolate-peanut and banana-chocolate-marshmallow ice cream in a handmade waffle cone

I was really happy to finally try Jones ice cream! Their ice cream is freshly made every day in small batches. It was lovely entering their shop and being welcomed by the delicious smell of waffle cones! I generally order ice cream in a cup to avoid the time pressure of eating up my ice cream before it melts and drips down. Because of this practical habit I almost missed trying one of the delicious hand-made cones!

handmade-icecream-cones-Jones-Berlin
The making of Jones’ delicious waffle cones

Jones also sells homemade cookies: cranberries-white chocolate, pecan-chocolate, peanut butter-bacon, matcha-white chocolate… the little piece of matcha-white choc cookie I tried was excellent! Next time I’d be curious of trying the cookie with bacon!

Jones handmade cookies
Jones handmade cookies

Later that day I visited the food stalls at the Karneval der Kulturen, where I came across Jones ice cream again! I was clearly meant to try their ice cream that day!

Jones ice cream truck
Jones ice cream truck

Useful information

Jones ice cream address: Goltzstraße 3, D-10781 Berlin
Website: www.jonesicecream.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/jonesicecream

Many thanks to V.P., “1$” and “Mazda” for joining me in my ice cream spree throughout Berlin! 🙂

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

