My unexpected visit of Gelateria Candiero, Maastricht (NL)

I really enjoy living so close both to the Netherlands and Belgium. The Dutch city of Maastricht is just 34km from Aachen, the city I live in and 28km from Liège.

On one sunny Saturday at the end of April, I had intended to spend the afternoon in Liège… multiple attempts to catch one particular train failed and the next best option was to catch a bus for Maastricht! Both cities are quite close geographically but they each have a quite distinct flair.

Suddenly I came across a lovely ice cream shop

I am really glad we went there, because I finally came across a lovely ice cream shop that I would recommend you to check out too! Gelateria Candiero is very close to the Basilica of Our Lady, on a street with many nice restaurants. This ice cream shop opened 3 years ago. Although I certainly walked on that street on most of my last visits to Maastricht, I somehow never noticed it before! I savoured my ice cream all the more because I had not expected any good ice cream that day!

Real homemade Italian gelato...
Real homemade Italian gelato…
Gelateria Candiero is on a pretty street, surrounded by nice restaurants
Gelateria Candiero is on a pretty street, surrounded by nice restaurants

The friendly ice cream server did a great job at helping us choose one flavour each. I sampled the ginger ice cream before setting my mind on the “Marie biscuit” flavour: I had never heard of those biscuits before, although the server referred to them as English biscuits. The ice cream tasted of what I know as “rich tea biscuits” and was really good! My friend chose a scoop of banana delight ice cream, which was also very good! It was clearly made with real banana (no artificial flavouring) and chocolate.

The selection of ice cream we had to choose from
The selection of ice cream we had to choose from
Gelateria Candiero
Gelateria Candiero

While we were at the front of the shop talking about the great ice cream they make, we got a glimpse of the shop owner at the back of the shop, preparing the next batches of ice cream. The motto of Gelateria Candiero, which I quote from their website is:

Gelateria Candiero is born out of passion for taste and authenticity, aiming to bring higher quality, freshly made authentic Italian gelato to Maastricht.

The ice cream is made with natural and fresh ingredients, free from artificial colours, flavours and other additives.

This was the point when I realised that I hadn't taken a photo of my ice cream...
This was the point when I realised that I hadn’t taken a photo of my ice cream…

Useful information

Gelateria Candiero address: Koestraat 10, 6211 HR Maastricht, Netherlands
Web: www.gelateriacandiero.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/gelateriacandieromaastricht

Expect the unexpected in Maastricht

In Germany, shops and supermarkets are closed on Sundays, so it’s particularly nice going to Maastricht on the weekend & enjoying the shops, nice restaurants, cultural events, parks and its river!

When I think about my trips to Maastricht over the years, I realise that many of them were marked by pleasant unexpected encounters:

  • The pleasant surprise, upon my first visit to Maastricht of discovering what a pretty city was behind a place that I previously only associated with the Maastricht Treaty
Maastricht, Netherlands
Maastricht, Netherlands
  • Coming across a street jazz festival on a day when I was there for an art festival
  • Coming across a really cool food festival in a park while walking aimlessly around Maastricht
TREK Food Truck Festival, held in the Stadtpark
TREK Food Truck Festival, held in the Stadtpark
TREK Food Truck Festival, held in the Stadtpark
TREK Food Truck Festival, held in the Stadtpark
  • Being positively surprised about Maastricht carnival celebrations! Many people had really cool costumes!
Nicely decorated building during carnival
Nicely decorated building during carnival
I spotted these cool ice cream costumes during the carnival in Maastricht
I spotted these cool ice cream costumes during the carnival in Maastricht

Useful information about Maastricht

Visit Maastricht website: www.visitmaastricht.com

Jeker Jazz festival (2x / year): www.jekerjazz.com

KunstTour, yearly art exhibition in Maastricht: www.kunsttour.com

TREK Food Festival: next edition in Maastricht will be held on May 18-21 www.festival-trek.nl

Don’t miss any stories about my travels & the best ice cream shops I encounter: follow my blog on WordPress or like Traveller’s Scoops on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

