The ice cream at Chatuchak market, Bangkok (TH)

As already hinted in my last post about my short city break in Bangkok, I had lots of fun trying various sorts of ice cream in Bangkok! 🙂 Thanks to Instagram, I had some ideas of places or sorts of ice cream to look out for…! Today I will tell you about the ice cream I found at Chatuchak weekend market (JJ market).

Coconut ice cream in a coconut shell with toppings

There are many ambulant vendors of coconut ice cream served in half coconut shells, with toppings such as roasted peanuts, coconut jelly, atap seeds, corn, sticky rice, etc. On a hot day, after a few hours walking around this enormous market, I really enjoyed my serving of coconut ice cream!

Coconut ice cream vendor at Chatuchak weekend market
Coconut ice cream vendor at Chatuchak weekend market
Another coconut ice cream vendor at Chatuchak weekend market
Another coconut ice cream vendor at Chatuchak weekend market, that also sold durian, mango and Thai milk tea ice cream
My coconut ice cream, served in half a coconut shell, with various toppings
My coconut ice cream, served in half a coconut shell, with various toppings

The roasted peanuts went particularly well with the coconut ice cream; the rest of the jelly toppings aren’t quite my taste!

Thai popsicles

There were also a few popsicle vendors, sitting in the shadow of their sun umbrella, pouring juice into stainless steel tubes in a large container filled with ice, water and possibly salt. You would see them shake the upper part of the container back and forth to make them freeze… I had never seen such a device before. It was fun to see!

Thai popsicle vendor at Chatuchak weekend market
Thai popsicle vendor at Chatuchak weekend market
Thai popsicle vendor at Chatuchak weekend market
Thai popsicle vendor at Chatuchak weekend market

Fruit ice bars and mini ice cream cones

Here are some photos of further ice cream options at Chatuchak market:

Thai ice cream bars: coconut, durian, black bean, milk tea...
Thai ice cream bars: coconut, durian, black bean, milk tea…

I would have been curious of trying the black bean ice cream bar, but I had already set my mind on trying the coconut ice cream!

Chocolate-covered ice bars at Chatuchak market, with flavours such as melon, mangosteen, durian...
Chocolate-covered ice bars at Chatuchak market, with flavours such as melon, mangosteen, durian…
Mini ice cream set...
Mini ice cream set…

In my next post I will tell you about the cool ice cream I tried or came across in some of Bangkok’s shopping malls… Make sure to follow my blog or like Traveller’s Scoops facebook page if you don’t want to miss my recommendations of delicious shaved ice desserts in Bangkok!

Useful information

Chatuchak website: www.chatuchak.org
How to get to Chatuchak market: take the BTS to Mo Chit station or the MRT to Chatuchak Park or Kamphaeng Phet
When? Saturday & Sunday from 10am to 6pm

One Comment Add yours

  1. Himadri Negi says:

    I liked the coconut ice cream too. Thailand offers so much to see and experience 🙂 Read about my vacation here – https://himadri7.wordpress.com/…/02/09/two-girls-in-thailand

    Like

Leave a Reply

