2016 Traveller’s Scoops Award

It’s been half a year since I started this blog. My posts have included recommendations for 21 ice cream shops in various cities. Have a look at the little infographic I created about Traveller’s Scoops in 2016.

Traveller's Scoops in 2016 infographic
Traveller’s Scoops in 2016 infographic

The main criteria that have an impact on how much I love an ice cream place are:

  1. Homemade ice cream (I admit that the effect of this on me is partially psychological: the power of marketing!)
  2. Originality of flavours on offer – this will determine whether I just like a place or truly love it!
  3. Taste
  4. Texture
  5. Other factors: who I’m with, what mood I’m in, if I’m on holiday or not, …

Because of how subjective and non-scientific my ice cream preferences are, I don’t intend to introduce any ice cream shop rating system! Instead of this I will introduce a yearly “Traveller’s Scoops Award” to distinguish the ice cream places that I love the most.

The contenders for the 2016 Traveller’s Scoops Award are ice cream shops that I went to in 2016 (the ice cream shops that I wrote about in 2016 but visited earlier were not considered). I estimate that I tried ice cream from 45 different ice cream shops, including Hokey Pokey, Woop Woop, California Pops and Eispiraten in Berlin (Germany), Terre Adélice in Lyon (France), Oecher Eis-Treff in Aachen (Germany), La Fraiseraie in Nantes (France), Keiserlich and Il Gelato di Ferigo in Cologne (Germany), Fraise Lavande from Blegny and L’Emporté from Aubel (Belgium), Une Glace à Paris and Glaces Glazed from Paris (France), O’ Glaces beaunoises and Passion Millot from Beaune (France), Fabrice Gillote and Carbillet from Dijon (France), Herby’s Icerolls from Krefeld (Germany)….

And the 2016 winner is…

Based on the criteria I mentioned above, Keiserlich from Cologne wins the 2016 Traveller’s Scoops award! I went there twice and had excellent ice cream both times! They regularly change the flavours and offer original flavours!

One of Keiserlich's ice cream shops in Cologne
One of Keiserlich’s ice cream shops in Cologne

Read about my first visit to Keiserlich here. Upon my second visit, I had the pleasure of trying their Oktoberfest ice cream made with alcohol-free wheat beer and bits of pretzel. I liked it much better than the last beer ice cream I tried! It had a nice malty taste. I also tried their basil ice cream, which had a perfect texture and taste. The taste of basil wasn’t too intense.

My Oktoberfest and basil ice cream scoops from Keiserlich in Cologne
My Oktoberfest and basil ice cream scoops from Keiserlich in Cologne

Congratulations Keiserlich! Dear readers, you should make sure to visit them, to check if you like them as much as I do!

I wish you all a wonderful 2017! Lets see what nice travels and ice cream await us all this year! 🙂

Useful information

Keiserlich Deutsche Eismanufaktur have two shops in Cologne:
Köln-Sülz: Wittekindstr. 42, D-50937 Cologne
Köln-Junkersdorf: Kirchweg 14, D-50858 Cologne

Web: www.keiserlich.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/Keiserlich

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Stephanie says:

    I am happy I found your blog. I love icecream and always try to find good icecream during my travels, which can be hard to find outside Europe.
    I found one in Cambodia (Gelato Lab in Siem Reap) that had the most delicious icecream!
    Definitely a must if you ever get to Cambodia!
    x

    Like

    1. Denise says:

      Happy to hear that! I might make it to Cambodia within the next weeks, so thanks for the tip! I’ll look out for that one!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

