My very first nitrogen-frozen ice cream @WOOP WOOP, Berlin (DE)

It’s time for another recommendation in Berlin! Woop Woop makes the freshest ice cream ever! They prepare the basis of their ice cream with milk, cream, fruit, chocolate, herbs or spices before adding liquid nitrogen (-196°C) to freeze the mixture in 30 seconds, in front of customers.

The most fun ice cream experience

I recently told you about my fun experience watching ice rolls being made for me… Well, seeing the production of my Woop Woop ice cream was the other most fun ice cream-waiting experience I’ve had! Upon your first visit to Woop Woop Ice Cream, you may go through the same emotional cycle as I did:

  • At first I was sceptical: I was going to a Street Food Festival organized next to Berlin’s main train station as part of the station’s 10th anniversary celebrations. My friends were over the moon when they realised Woop Woop would be there. Since I had never tried nitrogen ice cream before, I was curious to try something new but sceptical about it really being nice: I was afraid the taste and texture wouldn’t be as good as their concept was cool!
Food market as part of the celebrations of Berlin's main train station 10th anniversary
Food market as part of the celebrations of Berlin’s main train station 10th anniversary
  • Optimism quickly took over: while I was still sampling a tasty portion of mashed sweet potato with coconut milk and herbs, my friend jumped at a chance of getting his Woop Woop ice cream with short waiting time. He came back with cherry-mint sorbet. A spoonful of it was all it took to wipe away my scepticism! It passed the taste & texture test with flying colours!
Woop Woop nitrogen ice cream production
Photo: © Woop Woop Ice Cream
  • Excitement set in as I joined the queue. At first, since there were quite a few people in front of me,  all I could see was this mysterious “cloud” rising from the Woop Woop truck at regular intervals. Excitement was at its peak when I ordered apple crumble ice cream and had the pleasure of watching it being made. It was delicious and wonderfully creamy! 🙂
Woop Woop fresh ice cream production
Woop Woop fresh ice cream production… almost my turn!

At Woop Woop, you can choose from an ever-changing selection of flavours such as: mango-mint, strawberry cheesecake, rice pudding-pear-cinnamon, raspberry-coconut, chocolate-cardamom (I would particularly love to try this one!), passionfruit-cinnamon, etc. One of the advantages of making ice cream with nitrogen is that the quick freezing process prevents large ice crystals from forming, which ensures a smooth texture. 

Woop Woop ice cream
Photo credit © Woop Woop Ice Cream

Until a few months ago, Woop Woop Ice Cream was “only” an ice cream truck: when the truck was not at their semi-permanent location near Checkpoint Charlie in Berlin Mitte, they would post the location of the market / event they were at on their Facebook page. Now since the beginning of November they have an ice cream shop of their own! Not only do they sell freshly-made ice cream, but also freshly-made waffles and coffee. I look forward to checking out their new shop when I’m in Berlin again!

Useful information

Woop Woop Ice Cream address: Rosenthaler Straße 3, D-10119 Berlin
Website: www.woopwoopicecream.de
Facebook: www.facebook.com/woopwoopicecream

If you’re visiting Berlin for the first time, there are many buildings and museums to visit in Berlin Mitte:

Ampelmännchen pedestrian signals from former Eastern Germany
Ampelmännchen pedestrian signals from former Eastern Germany
Berlin cathedral
2004 photo of Berlin cathedral, taken during my very first trip to Berlin! 🙂
Reichstag building, where the German parliament meets
Reichstag building, where the German parliament meets. It’s nice going up the glass dome!

 

Best-known Berlin Wall crossing point between East Berlin and West Berlin during the Cold War
Checkpoint Charlie: the best-known Berlin Wall crossing point between East Berlin and West Berlin during the Cold War

Have you ever tried nitrogen ice cream?  Tell me about your experience!  Where did you try it and what did you think of it? 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I tried the ice-cream before in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. I had it posted in my blog as one of the must eat when in Johor Bahru. But I am npot sure if the shop is still in operation 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

