A day at the Salon du Chocolat, Paris (FR)

Going to the Salon du Chocolat in Paris has been on my wishlist for years! I love chocolate & have always been impressed by television coverage of the Salon du Chocolat in Paris. I marked this year’s edition in my calendar months ahead, but only really made the decision to go one week before it started.

Paris Salon du Chocolat entrance
This photo gives the impression that the Salon du Chocolat was a ladies-only event! 😉 (it was not!)

I had a wonderful day there, searching for interesting chocolate combinations and sampling my way around! Hundreds of chocolate makers from France,  Belgium, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Italy, Japan, etc. showcased their creations during the five days of the fair.

I fully agree with this claim by Vanillabeans! Chocolate makes you happy!
I fully agree with this claim by Vanillabeans! Chocolate makes you happy! 🙂
Chocolates from Benoit Nihant, Salon du Chocolat Paris 2016
Pretty chocolates from Benoit Nihant (Belgium). The reflection of the lights makes them look even nicer!
Set of
Set of “Colouring” chocolates from Ginza Sembikiya: strawberry / peach / chestnut / kumquat

Intriguing flavours from Asia

The chocolates that intrigued me the most were made by Japanese chocolate makers, such as es koyama and Le Chocolat de H. Some of the flavours of their chocolates were totally unknown to me: nara-zuke pickled radish, nikiri soy sauce, moromi, shikuwasa, burnt soy sauce. Miso and saké are flavours I had never experienced with chocolate.

Es Koyama offers many interesting sounding flavours! :) I tasted a few of them & they tasted great too.
Es Koyama offers many interesting sounding flavours! 🙂 I tasted a few of them & they tasted great too.

Chocolate tasting sessions took place throughout the fair: I really enjoyed the session with Susumu Koyama, owner and chef of “Patissier es koyama”, who provided interesting explanations about the flavours we tasted. The chocolates were really good! I was impressed by their taste and the good balance of sweetness/saltiness.

Susumu Koyama, owner and chef of “Patissier es koyama” commented the tasting of his chocolates
Susumu Koyama, owner and chef of “Patissier es koyama” conducted the tasting of his chocolates
of “unprecedented flavors from Japan”, featuring chocolate confectionery made with fermented and matured ingredients
Chocolate tasting under the theme of “unprecedented flavours from Japan”, featuring chocolate confectionery made with fermented and matured ingredients

Chocolate as appetizer – why not?!

Apéritif chocolates from the French Chocolatier Jean-Paul Hévin also piqued my attention: I bought a box of them but haven’t tasted them yet. I can’t wait to try these chocolates with époisses cheese & cumin, Pont l’Evêque cheese & thyme, goat’s cheese & hazelnut and Roquefort cheese & walnut! 🙂

A refined dessert demonstration made by champion Pâtissières

I attended one of the so-called pastry shows, where the 2013 and 2016 winners of French junior dessert championships (Anne-Sophie Bercet, Chef pâtissière at La Laiterie restaurant & Morgane Raimbault, from Le Taillevent restaurant) made a refined dessert with chocolate, mananka & makrut lime as main ingredients. I was just about able to enjoy the different textures, citrus & pepper notes in the little sample glass I got at the end!

So-called Pastry Show demonstration: here a combined dessert was made with chocolate, mananka and combawa, prepared in different ways
So-called Pastry Show demonstration: here a combined dessert with chocolate, mananka and makrut lime, prepared in different ways
My delicious little sample of chocolate, mananka and combawa dessert from the Pastry Show demonstration
My delicious little sample of chocolate, mananka and makrut lime dessert from the Pastry Show demonstration

Cherry on the cake: Glaces Glazed was also at the Salon du Chocolat!

Just after booking my trip to Paris, I realised that Glaces Glazed, one of my favourite Parisian ice cream shops had a stand at the Salon du Chocolat! I was very happy about this: lots of delicious chocolate & original ice cream in one place… the ingredients for a perfect day! 🙂

Glaces Glazed presented their new range of chocolate ice cream
Glaces Glazed presented their new range of chocolate ice cream
The cool Glaces Glazed ice cream flavours to choose from at the salon du Chocolat
The cool Glaces Glazed ice cream flavours at the salon du Chocolat

After sampling lots of chocolate, I feared I wouldn’t be up to eating any ice cream, but it was impossible to resist! Being at the Salon du Chocolat, I felt I had to sample at least one of their new flavours of chocolate ice cream: the chocolate-verbena ice cream was very good! But I just can’t resist any sweet or savoury dish made with pumpkin… I had to try the red kuri squash and tonka bean ice cream! It was delicious!! The taste of pumpkin was perfect!

On their website, Glaces Glazed mentions a chocolate ice cream which wasn’t on offer at the Salon du Chocolat: parsnip-white chocolate ice cream! If they had had it, there’s no way I could have stuck to one scoop only! Which flavours would you have chosen?

“Smashing Pumpkin” ice cream flavour from Glaces Glazed, made with red kuri squash and tonka beans

I first tried ice cream from Glaces Glazed during Summer: you can read the story about my discovery of their funky ice cream here.

Great chocolate, great ice cream… & sun too?!

The weather in Paris was so beautifully sunny and mild: I was able to walk off (all?!) the calories from my visit to the Salon du Chocolat and enjoy the charming streets of Paris.

visiting-paris-france

visiting-paris-architecture

visiting-paris-buildings

Useful links

Salon du Chocolat: www.salonduchocolat.fr
Glaces Glazed: www.glaces-glazed.com
Chocolatier Jean-Paul Hévin: www.jeanpaulhevin.com
es koyama: www.es-koyama.com
Le Chocolat de H: www.lcdh.jp

If you liked this post, please leave a comment!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Catherine says:

    Can’t wait to see what we’re going to be tasting at Christmas… I hope you were able to buy plenty of special ingredients! :-).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

