Il Gelato di Ferigo, Cologne (DE)

I love Il Gelato di Ferigo’s motto: “Healthy, natural and particularly creamy ice cream” (translated from German). Under this motto they pride themselves for using fresh and natural ingredients and they avoid using artificial flavours and preservatives.

Il gelato di ferigo - The new generation of icecream
Il gelato di ferigo – The new generation of icecream

The Italian-owned Il Gelato di Ferigo ice cream shop has been in Cologne since 1994 and offers an average of 30 differents sorts of freshly made ice cream every day. Their shop is located in the South of Cologne in the Südstadt area.

Il gelato di ferigo ice cream shop in Cologne's südstadt
Il gelato di ferigo ice cream shop in Cologne’s südstadt

I am pleased to report that the owner likes to experiment new flavours! The two I chose to try were:

  • Kulfi ice cream

I was very happy to try their kulfi ice cream, made with pistachio and cardamom. Kulfi is a frozen dairy dessert that is popular in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, etc. Mango, rose, cardamom and pistachio are some of the traditional flavours of kulfi. The first kulfi ice cream I tried was made by myself years ago and tasted very good but was amateur ice cream! Since then I’ve ordered it a few times in Indian restaurants, but they were not so good or were made with no or too little cardamom. I actually mentionned this story in my recent post about Eispiraten in Berlin.

The kulfi ice cream was nice & creamy: I loved the taste of cardamom and the bits of pistachio.

  • Pumpernickel (rye) ice cream

I like unusual ice cream flavours and that’s why I chose this one! 🙂 & I enjoyed trying it: you could clearly recognize the taste of pumpernickel and that slight sour taste that Pumpernickel bread has. There was a cherry sauce with pieces of cherries in the pumpernickel ice cream.

The scoops of kulfi and pumpernickel ice cream I had
The scoops of kulfi and pumpernickel ice cream I had

Other flavours you may find

I have to admit that I didn’t pay too much attention to the full selection of flavours on offer at Il Gelato Di Ferigo when I was there… The unexpected kulfi caught my eye and my full attention! 😀

Selection of ice cream at Il Gelato di Ferigo in Cologne
Selection of ice cream at Il Gelato di Ferigo in Cologne

But I’ve read that they make ice cream flavours such as ricotta-mint, watermelon, pink grapefruit, cucumber-rose-yoghurt, Turkish fig, cashew nut, golden kiwi, Federweisser (I would love to try this one!! Federweisser is fermented freshly pressed grape juice, which is available from early September to late October), citrus-carrot, etc.

Useful information

Il Gelato di Ferigo address: Goltsteinstraße 32, D-50968 Cologne
Website: www.ilgelato.de
Facebook: www.facebook.com/ilgelatodiferigo

Read reviews about other ice cream shops in Cologne here!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

