Fraise Lavande, Blegny (BE)

On a beautiful sunny day, we set off on a little trip across the Belgian border to check out Fraise Lavande ice cream shop…
…oh I wish I could start this off with those words! It would make my experience sound much more appealing than a more truthful description of our trip! But okay, here’s the honest version:  on a grey & rainy day, I was very excited about checking out Fraise Lavande in Blegny (province of Liège), which is about 36km away from Aachen, where I live. One day I was trying to locate some other ice cream shop in Belgium on Google maps, when Google showed me “what other Google users searched for” & Fraise Lavande popped up in that list & I just had to click on such a lovely-sounding name! (name in English= strawberry lavender)

The website of Fraise Lavande quickly convinced me that I had to find a way of getting to Blegny to try their natural ice cream, made without artificial colouring, without artificial flavourings or preservatives! One of my colleagues was happy to check it out with me… although he was possibly less happy about it when he realised that I was determined to maintain our plan of going there, despite the really bad weather… 🙂

Fraise Lavande ice cream shop
Fraise Lavande ice cream shop
Fraise Lavande sign
Glad to be inside Fraise Lavande on a cool (summer) evening

It was nice and warm inside of Fraise Lavande, it was nicely decorated & I really enjoyed their ice cream! I was happy that they actually do sell strawberry-lavender ice cream: I haven’t often come across lavender ice cream so I was delighted to try it! I also indulged in their pear-cinnamon and rhubarb-ginger ice cream!

Scoops of raspberry & exotic ice cream on the top and pear-cinnamon, rhubarb-ginger & strawberry-lavender on the bottom
Scoops of raspberry & exotic ice cream on the top and pear-cinnamon, rhubarb-ginger & strawberry-lavender on the bottom
  • The pear-cinnamon was my favourite: it had such a lovely taste and texture of pear and the cinammon was really good! Tasting this ice cream made me realise that cinammon comes in different qualities: the cinammon powder I have at home tastes quite different to the cinammon used for this ice cream and is definitely not as nice.
  • The strawberry-lavender ice cream was very good, but the taste of lavender was very intense: I wouldn’t be able to eat too much of it in one go!
  • The rhubarb-ginger ice cream was also excellent! It was a nice combination!
  • I also got to sample the raspberry and the exotic ice cream, which were also very good! All flavours were perfect in terms of sweetness!

I hope to be back soon to try more flavours of Fraise Lavande’s ice cream!

Selaction of ice cream flavours at Fraise Lavande
Selaction of ice cream flavours at Fraise Lavande

Fraise Lavande address: rue de la fontaine 71, B-4670 Blegny (please note that Fraise Lavande is closed during Winter. They will probably open again towards the end of March 2017)
Website: www.fraiselavande.be
Facebook: www.facebook.com/GlacierFraiseLavande

Many thanks both to Google Maps and to F.A. to have made this trip possible! 🙂

The weather was not optimal for ice cream...
The weather was not quite optimal for ice cream…

There are some very pretty spots close to Blegny:

Nice view close to Blegny
Nice view close to Blegny
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

