Eispatisserie Hokey Pokey, Berlin (DE)

I came across Hokey Pokey via some online lists of Berlin’s best ice cream: I had a bit of spare time & made the most of it by going on a little trip to Prenzlauer Berg in the north-east of Berlin.

Hokey Pokey
Hokey Pokey: from inside & outside

Over the years I’ve been to Berlin many times: during my first visits I ticked off all the classic touristy stuff: Reichstag, Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, East Side Gallery & co. I enjoyed seeing these and learning about Berlin’s history, but now what I enjoy most when I go to Berlin is just strolling around the different areas: Kreuzberg, Prenzlauer Berg, Friedrichshain, etc checking out food, events & exhibitions going on.

Prenzlauer Berg is a nice area to stroll around, with nice buildings, many nice places to eat and drink, nice little shops and where it’s just fun watching people and life go by.

If you’re in the area, I strongly recommend grabbing a few scoops of ice cream at Hokey Pokey! Over several visits I have tried the following ice creams:

Scoops of Hokey Pokey ice cream
Scoops of Hokey Pokey ice cream:
  • lemon-cinnamon: good but not my favourite
  • lemon-mascarpone-rosemary: nice texture & subtle taste
  • their so-called “café noir” ice cream was one of my favourites!! Great balance of the tastes of dark chocolate, coffee and sherry. The sweetness was just right!
  • blueberry-meringue: real good fruity taste and also not too sweet
  • apple-basil: good!
  • milk chocolate with caramelized honey and cashew nuts: this one was on the sweeter side but also very good. I loved the caramelized cashew nuts!
  • I also sampled their Sicilian pistachio ice cream: I have a few friends who consistently buy a scoop of pistachio ice cream in all ice cream shops we visit. So thanks to them I have sampled many different varieties of pistachio ice cream! 🙂 Hokey Pokey’s pistachio ice cream is one of the best I have tried! It was slightly salty and tasted great!
Selection of ice cream flavours
Summer 2015 & Spring 2016 – Selection of ice cream flavours on offer at Eispatisserie Hokey Pokey

Hokey Pokey address: Stargarder Str. 73, D-10437 Berlin
Facebook: www.facebook.com/Eispatisserie-Hokey-Pokey-213549142011141

I like putting the ice cream shops I visit in perspective within the cities they’re in. In my first Berlin post about Mos Eisley in Neukölln, I provided some additional information about the nearby Tempelhof field. So today I’d like to give you another tip about something interesting to do in Berlin.

Berlin’s history from an unconventional perspective

On the same day as one of my visits to Hokey Pokey, I participated in a guided tour organized by Berliner Unterwelten e.V (Society for exploration and documentation of subterranean architecture). They offer regular tours into some of the most important underground structures in Berlin. Tours include visits of bunkers and WW2 shelters. Check their website for information about the different tours; I’ve heard very good feedback.

Entrance to the particially destroyed anti-aircraft tower in Humboldthain, Berlin
Entrance to the partially destroyed anti-aircraft tower in Humboldthain, Berlin

I took part in tour 2 “From Flak Towers to Mountains of Debris”, as part of which we visited the partially destroyed anti-aircraft tower (= Flak tower) in Humboldthain park in Gesundbrunnen. This tower was one of three built by Hitler between 1940 and 1942 to defend Berlin from enemy aircraft. Unlike the other towers which were completely destroyed after the war, the Flak tower in Humboldthain park was only partially destroyed. It was very impressive going down into this enormous bunker and learning many interesting details about the structure and its construction.

I highly recommend taking part in Berlin Unterwelten tours to learn more about Berlin’s history – tours are offered in multiple languages.

Websitehttp://berliner-unterwelten.de

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

